Snowboarder Rider of the Year 2016

Rider of the Year

Rider of the Year

Welcome to SNOWBOARDER Magazine’s 2016 Rider Of The Year Awards Presented by Under Armour.

Since 1999, SNOWBOARDER Magazine has honored professional snowboarding’s best with our Top Ten Rider of the Year Awards. What lends this title such acclaim is the fact that it is solely based upon the discretion and opinions of professional snowboarding’s most elite club, those riders who have themselves appeared on our Top Ten Rider of the Year list. This means that when a pro receives this accolade they do so by impressing the likes of Pat Moore, Mark McMorris, Travis Parker, Gigi Rüf, Jeremy Jones, Marie-France Roy, Louif Paradis and more.

At its core, this ranking is intended to celebrate the riders who were the most exceptional professional snowboarders from December 1st, 2014 to November 31st, 2015. These riders are recognized for the fundamental responsibilities of being a professional snowboarder. This is based strictly upon the amount and quality of video parts, contest results and magazine coverage with an emphasis on diversity of terrain and discipline variance. Ideally, this process brings us to the individuals who most influenced the progression of snowboarding on a consistent basis over the course of this past season.

For 2016, our Rider of the Year award rollout will once again be an exclusively digital happening. Each weekday from Monday, January 4th until Monday January 25th, SNOWBOARDER will highlight a different rider’s achievement, culminating with the ultimate praise of naming our 2016 Rider of the Year.

The following icons are those whose opinions and votes were submitted in order for SNOWBOARDER to arrive at our 2016 Rider of the Year tally: Danny Kass, Sage Kotsenburg, Austen Sweetin, Ståle Sandbech, Scott Stevens, Leanne Pelosi, Jake Blauvelt, Mikkel Bang, Travis Parker, Bode Merrill, Louif Paradis, Torstein Horgmo, Mikey Rencz, Eero Ettala, Eddie Wall, Jeremy Jones, Andreas Wiig, Gigi Rüf, Marie-France Roy, Chad Otterstrom, Mark McMorris, Kevin Jones, Jamie Anderson, Ross Powers, Halldór Helgason, Jess Kimura, Mark Sollors, Eric Jackson, Danny Davis, Annie Boulanger, Hana Beaman, John Jackson, Wolle Nyvelt, Lukas Huffman, JP Walker, David Carrier Porcheron, Scotty Lago, Dan Brisse, Pat Moore, Devun Walsh, Nicolas Müller, Romain De Marchi, Chas Guldemond, Cheryl Maas and Frederik Kalbermatten.

Snowboarder Rider of the Year


Mark McMorris
Jamie Anderson

Louif Paradis
Jess Kimura
Victor De Le Rue
Kelly Clark
Scott Stevens
Scott Stevens
Stale Sandbech
Kazu Kokubo
Danny Davis
Arthur Longo
John Jackson
Deja Vu Encore
Webisode of the Year
Men's Rookie of the Year Yuki Kadono