Rider of the Year

Rider of the Year

Welcome to SNOWBOARDER Magazine's 2017 Rider Of The Year Awards.

Since 1999, SNOWBOARDER Magazine has honored professional snowboarding's best with our Top Ten Rider of the Year Awards. What lends this title such acclaim is the fact that it is solely based upon the discretion and opinions of professional snowboarding's most elite club, those riders who have themselves appeared on our Top Ten Rider of the Year list. This means that when a pro receives this accolade they do so by impressing the likes of Pat Moore, Mark McMorris, Travis Parker, Gigi Rüf, Jeremy Jones, Marie-France Roy, Louif Paradis and more.

At its core, this ranking is intended to celebrate the riders who were the most exceptional professional snowboarders from December 1st, 2015 to November 31st, 2016. These riders are recognized for the fundamental responsibilities of being a professional snowboarder. This is based strictly upon the amount and quality of video parts, contest results and magazine coverage with an emphasis on diversity of terrain and discipline variance. Ideally, this process brings us to the individuals who most influenced the progression of snowboarding on a consistent basis over the course of this past season.

For 2017, our Rider of the Year award rollout will once again be an exclusively digital happening. From Wednesday, January 4th until Tuesday January 24th, SNOWBOARDER will highlight a different rider's achievement each day, culminating with the ultimate praise of naming our 2017 Rider of the Year.

The following icons are those whose opinions and votes were submitted in order for SNOWBOARDER to arrive at our 2017 Rider of the Year tally:

Jed Anderson, Peter Line, Mikkel Bang, Jeremy Jones, Kazuhiro Kokubo, Chad Otterstrom, Victor De La Rue, Travis Parker, Pat Moore, Scott Stevens, Natasza Zurek, Jason Robinson, Lukas Huffman, Marie-France Roy, Austen Sweetin, Chris Engelsman, Jake Blauvelt, Eddie Wall, Halldor Helgason, Chas Guldemond, Annie Boulanger, Eric Jackson, David Benedek, Torah Bright, Arthur Longo, Priscilla Levac, Stale Sandbech, Mark Sollors, Ross Powers, John Jackson, Hana Beaman, Mikey Rencz, Gigi Rüf, Jess Kimura, Dan Brisse, Wolle Nyvelt, Leanne Pelosi, Devun Walsh, Danny Davis, Tara Dakides, Bode Merrill, Torstein Horgmo Sage Kotsenberg, Andreas Wiig, Scotty Lago, Mikkel Bang, Eero Ettala, Jamie Anderson, JP Walker, Mark McMorris, and Louif Paradis.

Snowboarder Rider of the Year

Kimmy Fasani Women's Rider of the Year


Eric Jackson Rider of the Year
Mikkel Bang #9 Rider of the Year 2017
Mark McMorris
Scott Stevens
Austen Sweetin Interview Rider of the Year 2017, Austen Sweetin Bio
Louif Paradis Bio
Travis Rice Bio
Jess Kimura
Torstein Horgmo
Robin Van Gyn
Kazu Kokubo Rider of the Year 2017
Marcus Kleveland 2017 Snowboarder Men's Rookie of the Year!
Klaudia Medlova
Kimmy Fasani Women's Rider of the Year
Bode Merrill 2017 Rider of the Year
Beyond Medals
2017 Snowboarder Movie of the Year: Stronger by Union Binding Co.